Russian defender Yuri Zhirkov was at the peak of his powers as he propelled his country to the semi-finals at the Euro 2008 tournament. Yuri Zhirkov was rewarded with a spot on the Team of the Tournament at Euro 2008 for his impressive performances in the colours of the Russian team.


Yuri Zhirkov was one of four Russians on the best players’ list alongside Andrei Arshavin, KostantinZyryanovand RomainPavyluchenko.

For the best team, Dutchman Edwin Van Der Sar, Iker Casillas and Gianlugi Buffon were the goalkeepers. They were joined on the list by six defenders. Russian fullback Zhirkov was one of those six defenders. Apart from Yuri Zhirkov, Spanish players CarlesPuyol and Carlos Marchena made the list alongside German player Philip Lahm and the Portuguese duo of Pepe and Jose Bosingwa.

Xavi Hernandez (Spain), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Michael Ballack (Germany), KostantinZyryanov (Russia), HamitAltintop (Turkey), Marcos Senna (Spain), Lukas Podolski (Germany) and Luka Modric (Croatia) were the ten midfielders on the list.

For the attackers, RomainPavyluchenko (Russia), Andrei Arshavin (Russia), Fernando Torres (Spain) and David Villa (Spain) made the list.

In total, 23 players made the Team of the Tournament for Euro 2008. Spain won the tournament thanks to the slim win over Germany in the final.

Fernando Torres delivered the only goal of the final in the first half for Spain to end their long wait for a major trophy via a 1-0 win at the expense of the Germans. Nine Spanish players made the best players’ list. The Russians had the next best representation on the list with four players named. Russia were one the most entertaining teams at the tournament and they played their best game to eliminate in-form Netherlands in the quarterfinals via a 3-1 victory.

Leave a Reply